Pact Of Biak Na Bato Agreement

According to historian Sonia M. Zaide, the agreement consisted of three parts: According to historian Teodoro Agoncillo, the pact consisted of three documents known together as the Biak-na-Bata ceasefire and which included:[8] According to General Emilio Aguinaldo, author in 1899, the main conditions of the pact were signed by biak-na-bato:[4] The pact was signed in San Miguel. [4] The pact was signed in San Miguel. Bulacan, in the house of Pablo Tecson, a captain of the Philippine revolution who, during the revolution, served as a brigadier general in general”s Brigada Del Pilar of General Gregorio del Pilar. On August 9, 1897, Paterno proposed a peace based on Aguinaldo`s reforms and amnesty. Over the next few months, Paterno went back and forth with proposals and counter-proposals between Manila and Biak-na-Bato. Paterno`s efforts resulted in a peace agreement, the so-called Biak na-Bato Pact. These were three documents, the first two signed on December 14, 1897 and the third on December 15; Republic of Biak-na-Bato. [10] A charter based on the Cuban Constitution was also drawn up by Felix Ferrer and Isabelo Artacho. Signed on November 18, 1897. The Biak-na-Bato Constitution provided for the creation of a Supreme Council to serve as the supreme body of the Republic`s government. He also described some fundamental human rights, such as freedom of religion, freedom of the press and the right to education. Emilio Aguinaldo and Mariano Trias were elected respectively President of the Supreme Council and Vice-President.

The Biak-na-Bato pact Pedro Paterno, a Spaniard born in the Philippines, volunteered to be a negotiator between Aguinaldo and Governor Primo de Rivera to end the clashes. Paterno`s efforts paid off when he signed the pact on 15 December 1897 as a representative of the revolutionaries and of Rivera as a representative of the Spanish government. The heads of state and government are: Emilio Aguinaldo President, Mariano Trias- Vice-President, Antonio Montenegro Secretary, Baldomero Aguinaldo Treasurer and Emilio Riego de Dios.

Posted in Uncategorized.